Offshore Technology Conference • 1-4 May 2017 • NRG Park • Houston, Texas, USA

Distinguished Achievement Awards

Each year, the OTC Awards Committee considers major technological, humanitarian, environmental, and leadership contributions to the industry. If truly significant, the committee names an individual and an organization as recipients of the prestigious OTC Distinguished Achievement Award. 
In some years, OTC also awards a special citation to recognize other notable activities or developments that benefit the offshore energy industry.
OTC recognizes these recipients at the OTC Distinguished Achievement Awards Luncheon, held at NRG Center the Tuesday afternoon of OTC.
Nominations are now being accepted for OTC 2017. Learn more.

Anyone can nominate an individual or company for one of the awards. Read our frequently asked questions.

OTC Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals

At OTC 2016, Don Vardeman, vice president of worldwide project management for Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, was honored for his significant leadership and extensive contributions to global
deepwater developments.

In 2015, Vardeman celebrated 40 years in the exploration and production field and was elected to the Offshore Energy Center’s Pioneer Hall of Fame. He is a member of Texas A&M University’s Engineering Advisory Council and has served as the Chairman of the OTC Board of Directors.

OTC Distinguished Achievement Award for Companies, Organizations, and Institutions

At OTC 2016, The Marine Technology Society Dynamic Positioning (DP) Committee was presented with this award for facilitating incident-free DP operations through sharing of knowledge.

Comprised of a committee of dedicated volunteers, it provides vessel owners, operators, marine class societies, engineers, and regulators with valuable tools such as conferences and workshops. In addition, it shares extensive guidance documents covering DP design philosophy, operations, and professional development and has developed a growing set of unique documents called TECHOP, which address specific topics of significant interest and impact.

OTC Heritage Awards

At OTC 2016, the first of two Heritage Awards was presented to George Hirasaki, who is recognized for his extensive research on reservoir simulation, enhanced oil recovery, formation evaluation, well logging, and reservoir wettability.

Hirasaki enjoyed a 26-year career with Shell before joining the chemical engineering faculty at Rice University in 1993. An active member of the National Academy of Engineers, he has received honors such as the Improved Oil Recovery Pioneer and Society of Core Analysts Technical Achievement Award.

The second Heritage Award recipient, Yuri Makogon, is an expert on gas hydrates and an astute research scholar of the water-gas phase behavior in the Earth’s stratum. He has discovered the existence of tremendous gas reserves in the hydrate form and expanded the knowledge of a number of important new physical gas hydrate properties, plus researched kinetics, morphology, and transformation of hydrate crystals. Makogon has authored 270 scientific papers, 29 patents, and eight books during his work in oil
and gas education and research experience, which has spanned nearly six decades. He is also an artist and has created more than 20 paintings.

Thank You to Our Sponsors